National Curriculum of England and Wales

National Curriculum of England and Wales

BSU is proud to offer the National Curriculum of England and Wales which is a curriculum offered by over 30,000 schools in the UK and in international schools around the world. This brings reassurance to parents and stability to students as the curriculum is delivered as a through process from when they first enter school as a child to when they leave as a young adult. It also offers security of progression when students move between countries as it enables them to more easily fit into another British school to continue their education. The National Curriculum of England and Wales prepares our students for their role in an increasingly challenging, cosmopolitan and rapidly changing world. This is done in a stimulating, caring and supportive setting where academic  excellence is balanced with opportunities for personal development.


The following information is designed to help you see the progression through the education process.

The UK Education Process

Early Years Foundation Stage

Primary (Year 1 – Year 6)

Secondary (Year 7 – Year 13)

To help teachers prepare for a child’s development and progression, the education process is broken down further into what are called Key Stages and children will pass through 5 of these before completing their school education. Early Years Foundation Stage is pre key stage.

Key Stages

Early Years Foundation Stage

Key Stage 1 (Years 1 – 2)

Key Stage 2 (Years 3 – 6)

Key Stage 3 (Years 7 – 9)

Key Stage 4 (Years 10 – 11)

Key Stage 5 (Years 12 – 13)

Our education system is like a child’s building blocks; laying foundations and building upon the previous one. It provides a continuous education year on year.

For further information on the National Curriculum of England and Wales please click on the following link: